Why cucumbers are bitter

cucumbersMany people have the question that some cucumbers are pleasant to the taste, even sweet, and other cucumbers are bitter, why is it so? First, bitterness is mandatory for wild cucumbers. Breeders had to work hard to stop the cucumbers from growing bitter. In the end, they have achieved their own, resulting in the emergence of ungainly varieties.

But to completely remove what is given to cucumbers by nature, all the same it does not work out, therefore separate fruits, despite all diligence, have a bitter aftertaste.

It is established that the bitterness of cucumbers is associated with a special substance - cucurbitacin. And the more it accumulates in the fruits, the more they are bitter. Its presence in cucumbers depends on whether this predisposition had the sorts from which they were obtained (in this connection it is necessary to give preference to new varieties with which the breeders worked for a long time). But in this case a considerable role here is assigned to other factors.

First of all, it should be mentioned that the fruits we eat can be immature. Immature cucumbers are contraindicated to eat, since they are yellow, are soft and bitter. Bearing in mind that the accumulation of cucurbitacin occurs with time, it should be borne in mind that the longer the time passes from the moment of ovary formation to the time of harvesting, the greater the amount of this bitter substance it will contain.

Why are some cucumbers in one row bitter, while others are not? Much depends on the variety itself and even on the quality of the seeds of one variety. The most bitter are dark green varieties: unpleasant taste is felt next to the base. As a rule, fruits become such in case of short-term droughts, in the heat period, and also if there is nutrient deficiency in the soil. If any of these situations occur, the cucumber growth slows down, and the maturation is prolonged by 4-6 days. In some cases, we have to wait and more time, which only increases in the fruits the amount of cucurbitin, giving the cucumber a bitter taste.

If in the cultivation of a cucumber culture there was a warm (not hot!) Cloudy weather and the humidity remained high, then the fruits will contain less bitterness. And this is quite logical, since the homeland for them is the humid forests of Southeast Asia. In this place cucumbers curled over trees, which provided them with a shadow. If the plant will be exposed to direct sunlight for a long time, it deprives it of moisture and leads to oppression, which it begins to react with the accumulation of cucurbitin.

In this regard, dreaming of growing sweet, delicious cucumbers, plants in the phase of ovary formation, it is necessary to provide regular and abundant watering, and this should not be limited to watering under the root, but also include sprinkling (in the morning and in the evening). Especially it needs to be done in hot weather. Do not neglect and loosen the soil. If plants are often and abundantly watered in the heat, then this minimizes the formation of bitterness.

It is worth noting that the bitterness in fruits can also be related to the incorrect selection of seeds from the ripened cucumbers that you have allocated to the seeds.



russian English

flowers

© 2017 The garden and the garden. All rights reserved. When using the materials of the site, the link toProdachu.com Required! For all questions, please contact us at: info@prodachu.com

GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

Почему огурцы горькие

ОгурцыУ многих возникает вопрос о том, что одни огурцы приятные на вкус, даже сладковатые, а другие огурцы горькие, почему же так получается? Первое - горечь в обязательном порядке присутствует у диких огурцов. Селекционерам пришлось немало потрудиться, чтобы огурцы перестали горчить. В конечном итоге они добились своего, в результате чего появились негорькие сорта.

Но полностью удалить то, что дано огурцам природой, все равно не получается, поэтому отдельные плоды, несмотря на все старания, имеют горьковатый привкус.

Установлено, что горечь огурцов связана с особым веществом - кукурбитацином. Причем чем больше его накапливается в плодах, тем больше они горчат. Присутствие же его в огурцах зависит от того, имели ли данную предрасположенность сорта, от которых они были получены (в связи с этим следует отдавать предпочтение новым сортам, с которыми много времени работали селекционеры). Но при этом немалая роль здесь отводится и иным факторам.

В первую очередь нужно упомянуть о том, что употребляемые нами в пищу плоды могут оказаться попросту незрелыми. Незрелые огурцы противопоказано есть, так как они имеют желтый цвет, являются мягкими и горькими. Помня о том, что накапливание кукурбитацина происходит со временем, следует иметь в виду, что чем дольше проходит времени с момента образования завязи до момента сбора плодов, тем большее количество этого горького вещества он будет содержать.

Почему на одной грядке одни огурцы горькие, а другие нет? Многое зависит от самого сорта и даже от качества семян одного сорта. Самыми горькими являются темно-зеленые сорта: неприятный вкус ощущается рядом с основанием. Как правило, плоды такими становятся в случае кратковременных засух, в период жары, а также, если в почве имеется дефицит питательных веществ. При возникновении любой из перечисленных ситуаций происходит замедление роста огурцов, а созревание затягивается на 4-6 дней. В некоторых случаях приходится ждать и больше времени, что только увеличивает в плодах количество кукурбитацина, придающего огурцам горький привкус.

Если при возделывании огуречной культуры стояла теплая (не жаркая!) облачная погода и сохранялась повышенная влажность, то плоды будут содержать меньше горечи. И это вполне логично, поскольку родиной для них являются влажные леса Юго-Восточной Азии. В этом месте огурцы вились по деревьям, которые и обеспечивали им тень. Если растение будет подвергаться долгое время воздействию прямого солнечного света, то это лишает его влаги и приводит к угнетению, на что оно начинает реагировать накапливанием кукурбитацина.

В связи с этим, мечтая о выращивании сладких, вкусных огурчиков, растениям в фазе образования завязей необходимо обеспечить регулярный и обильный полив, причем это не должно ограничиваться поливом под корень, но и включать дождевание (утром и вечером). Тем более это нужно проводить в жаркую погоду. Не следует пренебрегать и рыхлением почвы. Если растения часто и обильно поливать в жару, то это сводит к минимуму образование горечи.

Стоит заметить, что горечь в плодах может быть связана и с неправильным подбором семян из созревших огурцов, выделенных вами на семена.



Russian English

© 2017 Сад и огород. Все права защищены. При использовании материалов сайта ссылка на prodachu.com обязательна! По всем вопросам обращаться на E-mail: info@prodachu.com