Currant preparation for winter

Currant preparation for winterCurrant is a very popular berry bushes not only because of its useful properties, but also due to its high frost resistance and ability to survive. However, it will not be superfluous to prepare the currant for winter, because no one can say how severe the coming cold will be.

We form bushes

After the end of the fall leaves, pruning is carried out, which combines sanitary and shaping works. It is necessary to remove diseased, damaged and old branches (they can be recognized by dark brown bark). Also pruned to virtually all zero shoots, of which it is enough to leave 3 the strongest. On older plants, one-third shorten the annual increments.

Preparing the soil

Then follows the treatment of the soil in the pre-stripe band. These works include digging, loosening and mulching, which increase the air permeability of the soil and preserve moisture for the root system.

When carrying out soil cultivation work, it should be remembered that most of the roots are at a depth of 12-45 cm, with the roots diverging radially from the center of the bush. Therefore, all procedures with soil should be carried out at a depth of no more than 6 cm at the base and at 12-15 cm, having retired to 12 cm from the bush.

Autumn application of fertilizers is very useful for any plant, and currant is no exception. You can fertilize currant bushes immediately after digging, but it will be most convenient to combine these two procedures. It is only necessary to remember that in autumn only potash and phosphorus fertilizers can be introduced, but nitrogen should be abandoned.

Also, after digging up the pre-broom area, soil loosening is carried out to protect it from freezing to a considerable depth. Mulching is necessary to preserve the roots of young plants in severe cold, when the soil did not have enough snow to cover. This is one of the most important measures for preparing the currant for the winter.

Shelter of currant for the winter

Proper preparation of the currant bush for the winter will help the plant not to freeze and keep its branches from the fault. Start work should be, when the earth freezes and is covered with a strong crust. The first thing you need to do is to tie the bush with twine like spindle, that is spiral turns from the bottom of the plant to its top. Fixing the branches in this way, we keep them from the fracture as a result of snow gravity. Also, bushes should be hilled as snow accumulates until they are covered with a snow coat completely.

In addition to covering the currant for the winter, do not forget to clean the area of ​​debris and fallen leaves. For soil and plants, it does not represent any value, but it is an excellent place for wintering pests.



russian English

flowers

© 2017 The garden and the garden. All rights reserved. When using the materials of the site, the link toProdachu.com Required! For all questions, please contact us at: info@prodachu.com

GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

Подготовка смородины к зиме

Подготовка смородины к зимеСмородина является очень популярным ягодным кустарником не только из-за своих полезных свойств, но и благодаря высокой морозоустойчивости и способности к выживанию. Однако не будет лишней и дополнительная подготовка смородины к зиме, ведь никто не может сказать: насколько суровыми будут наступающие холода.

Формируем кусты

После окончания листопада проводится обрезка, которая совмещает санитарные и формирующие работы. Необходимо удалить больные, поврежденные и старые ветки (распознать их можно по темно-коричневой коре). Также обрезке подлежат практически все нулевые побеги, из которых достаточно оставить 3 самых сильных. На старых растениях следует на треть укоротить годичные приросты.

Подготавливаем почву

Затем следует обработка почвы в прикустовой полосе. В эти работы входит перекопка, рыхление и мульчирование, которые позволяют увеличить воздухопроницаемость почвы и сохранить влагу для корневой системы.

Выполняя работы по обработке почвы, следует помнить о том, что большая часть корней находится на глубине 12-45 см, при этом корни расходятся радиально от центра куста. Поэтому все процедуры с почвой нужно проводить на глубине не более 6 см у основания и на 12-15 см, удалившись на 12 см от куста.

Осеннее внесение удобрений очень полезно для любых растений, и смородина не является исключением. Удобрять смородиновые кусты можно сразу после перекопки, но наиболее удобно будет совместить эти две процедуры. Только необходимо помнить, что осенью можно вносить лишь калийные и фосфорные  удобрения, а от азотных следует отказаться.

Также после перекопки прикустовой области проводят рыхление почвы, чтобы обезопасить ее от промерзания на значительную глубину. Мульчирование же необходимо для сохранения корней молодых растений в сильные холода, когда почва не успела покрыться достаточным количеством снега. Это одно из важнейших мероприятий по подготовке смородины к зиме.

Укрытие смородины на зиму

Правильная подготовка смородинового куста к зиме поможет растению не замерзнуть и сохранить свои ветки от разлома. Начинать работы следует, когда земля замерзнет и покроется прочной коркой. Первое что нужно сделать - это обвязать куст шпагатом наподобие веретена, то есть спиралеобразными витками от нижней части растения к его вершине. Закрепляя ветки таким образом, мы сохраняем их от разлома в результате снежной тяжести. Также кусты следует окучивать по мере накопления снега, пока они не покроются снежной шубой полностью.

Помимо укрытия смородины на зиму, не забывайте очищать участок от мусора и  опавшей листвы. Для почвы и растений она не представляет никакой ценности, зато является отличным местом для зимующих вредителей.



Russian English

© 2017 Сад и огород. Все права защищены. При использовании материалов сайта ссылка на prodachu.com обязательна! По всем вопросам обращаться на E-mail: info@prodachu.com